2007 Acura TSX detailed with pics - NEED HELP/Advice though :)

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2009, 11:10 PM
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2007 Acura TSX detailed with pics - NEED HELP/Advice though :)

Hey all,

Well, I finally got around to detailing my 2007 Acura TSX today. I think that it went fairly well, but no matter what I do, I can't really get the paint to "pop." It looks good in the sun, but I see all of these detailers on this forum that produce these unbelievable reflections, and I just can't understand what I'm doing wrong. I do have yet to try detailing with my Porter Cable, but today I did the following by hand.

1. Washed with Optimum No Rinse.
2. Clayed with Meguiars smooth kit.
3. Applied Meguiars Swirl-X by hand to the entire car (had some swirling/spider webbing).
4. Applied Meguiars NXT 2.0.
5. Applied Optimum Car Spray Wax

The Clay step was a lot of fun. I've never done this before, and I couldn't believe the amount of crap that came off the car. It was amazing how much smoother it was when I waxed afterwards, especially the paint right behind the tires.

Here's my question. I noticed major streaking after applying the Optimum Car Spray Wax. What did I do wrong? Also, how do I remove the streaking?

Lastly, is it bad to apply the aersol tire shine after you've waxed the car? I guess my question is, will the wind pick up the aersol spray and get the car all full of that crap?

Now, onto the pics. Any advice/tips/suggestions would be great. I'm totally new to this, and I'd appreciate everyones thoughts. I plan on doing my next detail with my G100. I just wanted to get a feel for everything before I brought that out

Old 04-08-2009, 12:12 AM
Evil Mazda Driver

Received 174 Likes on 89 Posts